The Security Council


Ahmed Elsadig(Chair-Left) Mohammed Taha( President- Middle) Osama Osman                  (Assistant President-Right)

The Security Council’s main responsibility is to maintain international peace and security. It consists of five permanent members (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America) and 10 non-permanent members elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years. All members of the United Nations agree to accept and carry out the decisions of the Security Council. Only the Security Council has the power to make decisions that member states are then obligated to implement; it is also allowed to impose sanctions and authorize force if needed. The parties are called to a meeting whenever there is “a need to settle an act of aggression or a threat to peace”.

The Maintenance of the Security of Civilians in the Territories Occupied by the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Efforts to Eradicate Organized Crime in West Africa